top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan S

Getting to Know: Talia Cook

Hey everybody!

I hope you enjoy this post! I really wanted to feature someone in the health care industry due to everything happening regarding COVID-19. Please keep in mind all the health care professionals who are providing care during this difficult and confusing time. I knew Talia since we both attended and graduated from East Carolina University!


Can you give a quick background on yourself?


My name is Talia Cook. I’m 22 years old and currently live in Warwick, Rhode Island with my family. I am a 2019 graduate of East Carolina University (go pirates!!). I am a full time Registered Nurse working nights at the Miriam Hospital in Providence, Rhode Island. I work on a cardiac/medical surgical unit floor, and just celebrated 6 months of officially working as Registered Nurse!

How did you decide you wanted to be a nurse?


Growing up I’ve always been a “people person.” I love to talk and interact with others of all ages and backgrounds, and I’ve also always had a love of constantly learning new things. My mom has always wanted to be a nurse, and it was sort of something she instilled in me. She always said she could see me as a nurse growing up, and it kind of stuck with me. I also loved biology/anatomy in high school, so I decided to be an intended nursing major going into ECU as a freshman. I was accepted into ECU’s Bachelors of Science in Nursing program at the end of my sophomore year, and then really learned about my love for my future career within my last 2 years in nursing school, especially during clinical.

What has been the rewarding part of your job?


In just my 6 months of working on a unit as a nurse I’ve seen just how chaotic and stressful it can be some days. Some days are really tough, no matter how hard you try or what you do. But then there are days where you interact with patients and their families, and you can see and feel the difference your care as a nurse is making. I’ve learned so many things from patients too, and I just find it so interesting that I can learn and share so much with someone I just met during my 12 hour shift of caring for them. Developing a great rapport with a patient where you know they trust you and your judgement is a really rewarding feeling in itself. It’s as if even though they’re aware of the high stress situations that can occur and their health is partly in your hands, they trust that you’ll help them in every way you can.

Top ways to decompress after a shift?


My job is mentally and physically exhausting at times so I do my best to try and make sure I take care of myself too. Working nights I’ve learned to love napping. I usually will come home after a shift and have some breakfast and then shower. I like to light a few candles in my room, so when I’m ready to get into bed my room already smells really nice which helps me to relax. Sometimes if I don’t have to go home and get to sleep ASAP because I’m working again later that night, I’ll go out to breakfast after a shift with some of the nurses I worked with. It’s been a nice way for me to get to know my coworkers better since I’m still considered to be pretty new to the floor.

Favorite ways to spend your free time?


I love going to the gym and walking my dog, both help me clear my head more than anything. I like to get my nails done very few weeks as well as a facial every month (yay for self care!!). I like to read and spend my time outside when the weather is nice. Also just things like spending time with family and friends is a great way for me to make sure my life just isn’t focused on being a nurse. I love what I do and when I’m at work I’m completely focused on everything there, but I think it’s important to make sure it doesn’t consume all of me.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page